Survival of Fittest set for September 22nd

When Ring of Honor returns to the Du Burns arena in Baltimore on September 22 for “Fan Appreciation Night,” it will also play host to the Survival of the Fittest tournament.

Survival of the Fittest is a one-night tournament where six wrestlers compete in an elimination match in the tournament’s finals where the winner earns a future ROH World Title match. Other than 2008, the tournament has been held every year since 2004. The list of Survival of the Fittest winners is a who’s who of Ring of Honor. The winners of the past tournaments are:

  • 2004: Bryan Danielson
  • 2005: Roderick Strong
  • 2006: Delirious
  • 2007: Chris Hero
  • 2009: Tyler Black
  • 2010: Eddie Edwards
  • 2011: Michael Elgin

So far, Edwards has been the only wrestler to win the ROH World Title from using the Survival of the Fittest title shot. He did so by defeating then-champion Roderick Strong at “Manhattan Mayhem IV” in March 2011. Michael Elgin is looking to follow in Edwards’ path when he challenges for the title at “Glory by Honor XI” on October 13.

No names have been announced for Survival of the Fittest 2012, but whoever participates will be hungry to make a name for themselves. Survival of the Fittest has been home to many star-making performances over the years, and it will be no different for the competitors in this year’s tournament. Another wrestler will cement himself as a major player in Ring of Honor and add his name to the list of greats who have won the tournament by coming out on top of Survival of the Fittest 2012 in Baltimore on September 22.

Jon Shumake

Jon has been with ROHWorld since March 2011. The American Bearded Nightmare is one half of 'Team America' on ROHCast, which is available every week on ROHWorld, iTunes and Stitcher.